Andre Berry- Day 2

Considering this as our first full day in the Bahamas its safe to say that the hype that’s behind the Bahamas is true. From the beautiful Atlantis hotel we are staying at to the wonderful beaches its a wonderful place to visit and do adventurous things that you have never done before. With today being the first phase of our business trip and vacation we started the morning off with a great team practice at the University of Bahamas. The drive to the University I did a lot of site seeing, one thing that I observed is that people drive on the opposite sides of the road, a few times it caught me off guard and thought that a huge accident was going to happen but it was just a yield. When you think of the Bahamas all you think about is spending time on a cruise, the beaches and the resort the Atlantis, but they don’t tell you about the outskirts of it that are surrounded by a lot of poverty and homeless people. Seeing that opened my eyes about the situation that I’m blessed with. Being stable and pursuing my dreams in the US is the goal for a lot of people but they just haven’t had the opportunity to do so. When we got to the University it wasn’t your normal campus, I didn’t see any dorms or buildings, all I saw was one building and the athletic fields were about a mile down.

ab2   After practice it was time to go swimming with the Dolphins, I’ve never been and a part of me was nervous but I knew that this is something that you don’t do often so I couldn’t turn that down. Before we could get after it we had to get our swim suits, after we took our places in the water. Me being who I am I put sharks and every other animal in the water in the same category as sharks, being around the dolphins today changed my perspective of them. Dolphins are considered mammals and can communicate to humans by sounds and hand gestures, today we were taught the different hand gestures that get dolphins to do certain things. For example, we learned how to get the dolphin to wave at you, how to get it to jump and also give you a kiss on the cheek. I was expecting this to be a time where we would actually swim with the dolphins and not just pet them, feed them fish and interact with them but overall it was a great experience to be apart of. After that we made our way to the pool where we relaxed for the rest of the day, we went on the lazy river and the huge slide that sits right in the middle of the resort. I’ve always had a problem with heights but all I could think about while I was on top of the slide is being in the Bahamas with my brothers.

Leave a comment