Stan Robinson-Day 1

sr1Today was our first day here in the Bahamas, it was a long travel but we managed.  We left campus at 5:30am, Our flight was at 8:15. I slept the whole way to the Island.When I opened my eyes all I could see was beauty. Clear water, big buildings and happy people. The resort is as big as the state of Rhode Island. When we went walking on the beach I had sand between my toes. When I got here I was as happy as a little kid on his birthday.

Outside of the resort the island is still beautiful but there are a lot of rural and urban areas.  Driving on the roads were the craziest moments because here they drive on the left side of the road and the steering wheel is on the right side of the car that was a big culture shock. The food here is pretty good when your on your 1st plate after that first plate I just don’t know what it is, but the food starts to get nastier. For a good 15 to about 20 minutes me and Jared were lost, trying to find our way out of the hotel. So much has been going on today but really we haven’t did anything yet but eat.

sr3At dinner we all had a pretty decent time. We ate good and laugh even harder. The funniest moment at dinner was when I played a prank on Coach Hurley, telling the restaurant it was his birthday. I do not mention my feelings a lot in this blog because I am just so shocked that someone like me is here at an Island like this. Where I come from going to the Bahamas is only something we dream of. So being here has not really hit me yet, because I am just out here big eyed and just trying to do any and everything I can to have a good experience here. This is a blessing from the man above and I am thankful for the being here and being here with my team. I keep forgetting today is only Monday, that explains why this resort is not crawling with lots of people. Today is only our first day here, I can’t expect to do everything in one day. I am pretty sure this trip will pick up as the week goes on and we start to get on with the games.

 

Leave a comment