EC Matthews-Day 1

Today was day one of our experience in the Bahamas at the Atlantis resort, so that means it was travel day so our day was pretty long. We woke up about five to get on the bus and catch our flight, and I couldn’t help but do a little reminiscing. Thinking back to my freshman year to now entering my fifth year, I am so blessed to go on two foreign trips. My first trip going to Italy where I was so young and unaware, I had no clue what to expect I was just going with the flow and trying to fit in and find my identity on this team. Fast forward four years later and it’s just different for me. I appreciate this gift of going to a beautiful place with important people, it starts to become more than basketball then. You develop relationships with teammates or coaches that you would never think of having and that’s what these trips are really about. I know my identity years later than when I was a freshmen. I try to make the younger guys more comfortable with being so far from home especially the freshmen like Fatts. It can be a lot to handle at times. With that being said I was also sad because this will be my final and last time doing this with these group of people, this is my family away from my family so sometimes I like catch myself daydreaming about the times we had together. Atlantis is definitely the most beautiful place I have been so far coming from Detroit this place is just on another level I was in awe the second we got off the plane. I mean I have seen the Bahamas on television, I have seen pictures and heard stories but just seeing it in person with your own eyes I definitely thought about my mother she deserves to see this magical place, I have to take her here one day soon. Since it was day one, our day wasn’t full of activities everybody was tired from traveling and starving so once we got established in our rooms we had little time to shower and rest before we headed to dinner around seven. We had barbecue which is one of my favorite types of meals to eat, we took team pictures, a lot of selfies and just conversed a ton the entire night.  We have the rest of the night to look around and go places but I’m pretty sure everyone is laying in bed and resting up for tomorrow where things will pick up a lot. We start off with practice in the morning at eight then after that our day will be booked with who knows what, but I am very excited and I can’t wait to see what the Bahamas has to offer. Really blessed to be here five days will go by quick before heading back to Rhody so I will definitely live in the moment with my loved one’s. Day I officially over!

IMG_1587

Leave a comment